IDIOT IS AS IDIOT DOES.

WHAT ASSES?
Bollywood has taken over even natural calamities.
A few days back an unprecedented cloudburst over Ladakh led to more than 200 deaths and hundreds more are missing. The airport at Leh (the highest in India) was partially washed away making relief and evacuation flights difficult. Thousands of people are still stranded with no food or essential supplies
But what did the news channels and media lead with?

"RANCHO'S SCHOOL WASHED AWAY! " screamed the headlines and the bloke on India TV even managed to tensely remind us that the school where 3 Idiots was shot and where Rancho taught was washed away but, he helpfully added, the students were safe.
Then to reinforce that fact they kept showing clips of the movie with the children’s (actors in the movie) heads circled in red forgetting perhaps that those kids were probably not actually students of the school or for the matter that Rancho is just a fictional character.
Zee News (which seems determined to plough the depths of banality) went a step further.
“The children are safe,” said the wide eyed anchor, and then with an expression, which was supposed to be distressed but which just came across as cross eyed and cross browed, asked in breathless anticipation, “but what about Centimeter?”
For those of you who haven’t watched the movie, Centimeter is the chottu tea boy from the college who later joins Aamir Khan in Ladakh but who most certainly is NOT still actually working there as a teaching assistant.
WTF?

Somehow after this, ‘IDIOT’ seems too tame a name for these weirdoes on TV.
What have we come to? Seriously.
Can’t we even digest news if not coated within a bollywood context?
Have we really become that dumb or for that matter that heartless?
THINK.
Coz those news anchors certainly don’t.
FYI: The school’s actual name is The Druk Pema School and is (or was) situated 15km outside Leh town on the Leh-Manali highway.
Till next time...
Luv
Vish

Again for just 1 person. Vinay Pathak. He is my choice to take over the empty space left behind by Sanjeev Kumar with a bit of Kishore added for grins.
Tabu bids farewell to her new husband in a new apartment in a new city and takes down the cornflakes and adds some chilly powder to make an impromptu jhalmuri. Tabu receives a call that her husband is dead and suddenly alone and feeling suffocated in the house they shared together she stumbles outside and cries her heart out. I could go on but I guess you get the picture.
The story was old. The lead stars were a flop pair. The Director in just his 2nd outing and the budget was about the same as a song in a SRK movie. Yet somehow it turned out to be one of the freshest and funniest movie of the year. As a date movie it had no equal this year. For many years directors and co-stars have talked about Kareena’s potential and here she is in full bloom.
Lets look at what the film did NOT have. NO Pretty Bollywood heroines, NO songs in Switzerland, NO Love Story and it was about sport. Not Cricket or Football but boring Hockey and that too women’s hockey. However what it did have is a tight script, spot on actors and of course King Khan. It is SRK’s best performance till date.

